I have been called many things in my day (no surprise there) but “techy geek” is usually not one of them. You will not find me camping outside a store, waiting to purchase the latest gadget that will be obsolete next week. When my computer has a serious problem, I usually cannot fix it.  All in all, I am about average, comfortable with technology, but not a slave to it.

That being said, I will admit that I do have my fair share of “high-tech” devices: multiple computers and cameras, etc. I like to tell people this is because I am “picky” about what I buy, but the truth is closer to the fact I don’t have enough money to afford everything.

Lately I had been debating whether to invest a few dollars (or more) in a better laptop, a tablet, or an iPod touch.  It was too hard to choose. None of the options seemed to fit my needs.  So I waited, which was apparently a brilliant thing to do, since my family chipped in and bought me the iPod touch for my birthday.  (I assure you this was NOT a ploy to drive everyone crazy until they relented and bought it for me.) So, while I may be years behind the times, and what I have will no doubt be obsolete tomorrow, I still marvel at what it can do – plus I finally got a chance to speak with Siri!

Alas, now I have another affliction: Siri anxiety.  I pressed her button and she spoke to me.  I didn’t know what to ask.  The pressure!  After all, she might laugh at me if I asked something stupid, wouldn’t she? I panicked.

Finally, like an idiot, I asked the first thing that popped into my mind,”Siri, if I eat another piece of birthday cake, will it go straight to my hips?”

Needless to say, my status as a “techy geek” has not been enhanced one bit.  Case closed.

“Siri, may I please stop blushing now?”

Image

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

Leave a Reply

