OK, it’s over. I finally took the plunge and posted my very first posting on my very first blog.  I even got some followers – awesome! But now comes the awful next question:

“Now what?”

Life is tough enough as it is.  Every day we face the stressful task of making life-altering decisions: what should I have for breakfast? What should I wear today?  Do my socks match? Whew.  I don’t know about you, but that’s almost too much to handle.

And now I face another dreaded question: what will I blog about?

OK, I know, I did this to myself. My drive to write, my drive to express myself, and (dare I say it) the scary possibility of a narcissistic ego (as if an ego could NOT be narcissistic?) are all to blame.

So, what do I do?  Do I scribble some mindless babble about the delicious bagel I had for breakfast? Do I write about what’s trending: the new “normal-sized” Barbie doll  picture?  The possible names for Kate’s baby? Or, why I am starting to look more and more like a “minion” every day? (Hey, wait, those are all good.  I better write them down for future use.)

No, I write about what is churning in my stomach right now: the overwhelming feeling of utter nervousness that I am a “one day wonder,” who will have nothing to say the rest of my life.

That’s it.  I have “Newbie Anxiety.” Am I doomed?

newbie

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

2 responses »

  1. Colleen says:

    Thanks for making neurotic the new and funny “normal”. I feel a little less stressed about what to post on my own blog now or what I’m going to have for lunch or if life is just one big hologram and what if someone forgot to pay the electric bill — and someone forgot to make a back up file of me. I think I’ll go eat that last piece of cheesecake — just in case.

    • Joe says:

      My pleasure. Gotta have a sense of humor at times. It helps with coping. Now if I could only come up with something for tomorrow…maybe I should get out of the house and have an adventure. That would be a start. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

