You’ve been blogging for two days and have twelve people “following” you.  All of a sudden, you start to feel important. Your ego shifts into overdrive. Dreams of writing awards and a movie based upon your life flood your every waking moment.  And then it hits you: the downside.

I have already discovered that there is a downside.

The first thing that happens is – when you share your good news with your “blogger friends” – they become jealous.  Why should you have all this success when they have been blogging for two years and have only fifty followers?  Your success is a threat to them, and they plot their revenge.

Image

The next thing that happens is you start thinking like a blogger. You start to wonder about everything you do or say or see in the course of a day – you wonder if it will make a good blog entry.  Your life is no longer your own.

Image

Then, since you are in perpetual “blog-seek mode,” people start avoiding you because they do not want to appear in your blog.  Your wife says “Don’t you dare take a picture of me,” and your mother says “If you write about me, don’t make me look stupid.”  Your kids don’t say a word, because they have already written about you in their own blogs.

ImageYou wander around the house, writing pad  and camera in hand, grabbing random objects and thinking about what to write about them:

* “How do they make toothpicks?”

* “Why are bananas yellow?

* “How come oranges don’t have a name, just a color?  We don’t call blueberries ‘blues’ or strawberries ‘reds’?”

You are doomed.  You are sinking in the quicksand of the blogosphere and there is no way out. And then you realize that you have just discovered the subject of you next blog.  You smile the blogger’s smile.

So, please ignore all my previous complaints.  Blogging sure is fun – until tomorrow, when I will have to do this all again.

PS: Note to my mom: Please pick up the phone.  I know you are screening your calls.

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

7 responses »

  1. Tertia says:

    I love this! My blog is barely 3 weeks old and I have had some of the same thoughts. When a post doesn’t bring new followers, I wonder what was wrong with it:) I also lust after that feeling I get when I hit the publish button!

    • Joe says:

      Thank you very much for your comments. As you can tell, this is a new experience for me, and I think we all experience many of the same feelings as we develop our blogs and figure out what to do. I hope that your blog is getting followers, and that you still enjoy writing it.

  2. 12 people in two days??? That is not bad at all.

Leave a Reply

