While I plan to talk a lot about agoraphobia and anxiety disorders, the main goal of this blog is to help other people deal with the issues in their lives that prevent them from living happy and productive lives.  And while we might stray from time to time, we will always land back in the same spot: helping people.

Nothing we discuss is ever simple, and it varies from person to person. We will not get into the debates of “nature versus nurture” or “medication versus no meds.”  Those I leave up to the doctors, the scientists and the experts. I will focus on solutions: what has worked for me and what we can do for you.

There are many components to anxiety disorders, and some will say that a person may be genetically-disposed to have one. Still, you cannot dispute the fact that they can be made WORSE by the experiences one has.  One such experience is that of BULLYING. I was bullied as a child.  I would like to do whatever I can to make bullying stop.

Besides the obvious physical trauma one endures when bullied, there is the mental side – which is worse. A victim of bullying can feel absolutely worthless. It fosters low self-esteem, depression and suicidal thoughts. All of this happened to me, and I went through some very dark days when young.

Finally…FINALLY…people are doing something about it!

SFTSA movement has started, called “Stand for the Silent.” This organization’s goal is to put an end to the cycle of bullying no matter how long it takes.  Here is a quote from their website:

“ Stand for the Silent was started in 2010 by a group students from the Oklahoma State University- Oklahoma City Upward Bound Chapter after they heard the story of Kirk and Laura Smalley’s son, Ty Field-Smalley. At eleven years-old, Ty took his own life after being suspended from school for retaliating against a bully that had been bullying him for over two years.”

Here is the link to their site: http://www.standforthesilent.org/

I have written about bullies in some of my fiction. I have spoken to young people about this issue.  And I will continue to speak out about this paralyzing abuse, especially in young people. If this blog does nothing more than to raise awareness even the slightest bit, then it is worthwhile.  I hope you will join me.

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

