I saw something disturbing on the morning news today – well, more disturbing than usual. It seems as if the fine journalists at NBC News had decided to give us up-to-the-minute coverage of the “Twinkie Truck” as it arrived in New York City and rescued us all from our snack food dilemma. We can all relax now, our savior has arrived.

Twinkie Truck

Now please keep in mind that I have absolutely nothing against Twinkies.  On the contrary, just hearing that they had made a phoenix-like return from the dead gave me the urge to go out and buy some. I actually like Twinkies, so that is not the issue. I also think that is is a very good thing that America spoke up and demanded to keep the tasty treat on the shelves. We are lucky to have freedom of speech, freedom of protest, and freedom of petition in our country.  Everyone deserves a voice.

So, then, why this blog entry?  Simple: it puzzles me why we get more excited about such things than, for example, a head of state visiting the country, a mission to stamp out Malaria, or endeavors to stop world hunger.

Twinkies Oh, I know, this is just TV’s way of having a little fun – and I DO love to have fun.  But, please, this was not a cure for cancer, an important amendment to the Constitution, or even the arrival of Kate’s baby (I don’t need news bulletins on that either.) This was just a simple delivery of some boxes of mouth-watering, cream-filled sponge cake, and…

..okay forget what I just wrote. I gotta get me some Twinkies….NOW!

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

Leave a Reply

