I cannot walk into a pet store.  It breaks my heart.  I want to take all the dogs and cats home with me, set the birds free…you get the idea.  I never leave with a good feeling.

Puppy Dog  Eyes

Hers were the saddest eyes. Big and brown and wiser than those of others her age. She didn’t jump up like the rest of them.  She just sat there as if she knew that all the hard work in the world might not be enough to set her free.

Patient?  Yes.  Content?  I don’t think so. Yet she never made a sound; not a bark, nor a whimper. Only the sad eyes of one with love to give, but no one to give it to.

Oh how I wished I could take you home that day – or at least know that you now are surrounded by those who love you. But I will never know – just hope.  The next time I went into the pet store you were gone.

Yours were the saddest eyes I have ever seen.  I hope today they are happy. You deserve it.

I cannot walk into a pet store.  It breaks my heart. But a broken heart is the price we pay for having love inside it.

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

Leave a Reply

