I was driving around town the other day, trying to figure out the quickest way to get home without being noticed, when I had a moment of clarity. Moments of clarity are rare for me, so I try to enjoy them. Most of the time, the noises in my head sound like a jet plane traveling through a football game in the middle of a rock concert with lots and lots of people talking.  You get the idea: it’s crowded in there.

As I was rounding corner after corner, trying to find my house (I get lost a lot) I started to notice something about the endless array of signs that I saw along the way.  They were all telling me what I could not do.

Sign no parking     Sign no walking on grass     Sign no dogs allowed

This started me thinking, and that is where I usually get into trouble. I started looking for more signs and thinking about others with which I was familiar.

Sign no swimming Sign no talking  Sign no trespassing

I began to notice a pattern.  Do you see it? Most of the signs we see include the word “NO.” While I realize the need for signs: they can sometimes help us do the things we need to do, go the places we need to go, and maintain order and safety in the world, I began to wonder what would happen in a world without signs.  Would there be chaos?  Would our neighbors go to the mall naked, come to my house and raid my refrigerator at 3:00 am, or forget to pick up after their dog does its business. (Come to think about it, some of these things have already happened, so that shows you how effective signs are.)

Okay, I admit it, some signs are good:

Sign no service I will let that sign speak for itself. Still, my point is that many signs make us feel bad, and that plants the seeds of negativity inside us.  Soon, we start feeling bad about ourselves without even realizing what is happening.

Sign no they cant Some signs are confusing:

Sign not a sign Some signs are downright scary:

Sign dead end So I would like to leave us today with this thought: perhaps we need a few signs that tell us what we CAN do, that we are ABLE TO things and that we have GOOD inside us.  Maybe the idea is crazy, or maybe I am, but I want everyone to think positive thoughts today.

My sign for today is this:

Sign yes

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

Leave a Reply

