Graphic_Dropping the towel

Every blogger has had to ask her or himself the same questions: should I blog, and if so, what should I blog about?  And while I am certain that it is not absolutely necessary, it would be nice if some thought was put into the process of figuring this out.

Do you want your blog to be funny – bring some laughter into the world? Do you want your blog to be serious – tackle meaningful issues and offer help?  Or do you simply wants thousands upon thousands of adoring fans, who can’t wait to see pictures of what you just had for lunch? (FYI: a chicken sandwich.)

I have been blogging for three weeks now, and luckily I have learned a few things.  I have learned that – if I am to do a good job – I am going to have to reveal myself.  I am going to have to “drop the towel.”  I have not done this yet.

Graphic_Naked While it’s true that some of my postings have been about myself – and it is a weird feeling to actually say that I am an agoraphobic – I have a long way to go, unless I am content with writing something that borders on the mundane. In order to make a difference, I am going to have to dig deep and reveal my personal thoughts and feelings.

I have not “promoted” my blog.  A few of my close friends know about it, but that’s about it. When I tell them what I am writing about, I get a similar response: I always knew there was something wrong with you (not exactly a glowing endorsement for mental health.)

I have not posted anything about my blog on my regular Facebook page.  I have not tried to spread the word. But the time has come to reach out.  The time has come to drop the towel.

Graphic_courage

I decided that – since I started this blog on July 1st – I would drop the towel on August 1st, exactly one month later. I will continue to talk about my diseases, my anxieties and fears, and explore how I learned to do more than just cope with them.  I lead a happy and fulfilling life – and you can, too!

So, the question before us today is this: have you dropped your towel?  Are you digging deep enough to reach your goals, and to give your followers the best blog you can?  I would REALLY like to know your thoughts about this. Please let me know.

PS: Sorry that this wasn’t humorous.  I couldn’t figure out how to make it funny unless the towel dropped while writing it. No one would want that.  Trust me.

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

Leave a Reply

