World Bucket List

There’s been a lot of talk about bucket lists lately – it’s a very hot topic.  That got me thinking (here comes trouble.)

My first thought was about my own bucket list.  What did I want to do before – or if (because you never know) – I die? Did I want to go places, do things, eat things, own things?  Sure – a few.  But I noticed something interesting:  I was having a hard time coming up with a list.

So, of course, I thought about that for a while. The answer I came up with was good: I am happy with the life I have led. If you would have asked me to come up with a bucket list as a boy, I would have said: to get married, raise a family, own a home, etc.  To me, these are very important and meaningful things – and I have done them all.  I have done a lot of things and have very few regrets – the sign of a happy life – and that is why my bucket list is short.  The only other thing that I would REALLY like to do before I die is to publish a book. I have a roof over my head, food on the table, clothes on my back, and people who love me.  What could be better?

Then I got to thinking: why do we always think about ourselves when we draw up a bucket list? Shouldn’t we be thinking about others – about the world?  I think so, and that is why I started drawing up a bucket list for our planet. (This might also apply to you if you are an alien – I haven’t quite figured out that part yet.)

Of course the idea of a bucket list is based upon the fact that person making one will someday be gone – but isn’t this also true for the Earth?  Now I am not a scientist (but I do know one) but I know that our planet cannot exist forever. Either our sun will grow cold, or we will suffer a catastrophic impact or those inhabiting it will destroy it.  Whatever the outcome, the Earth’s days are also numbered.  One can only hope that we have many, many days left; and by the time the end is near, our race will have found another place to live.  (End of science lesson.)

So, then, what have I placed on the Earth’s bucket list?  I tried to generalize and summarize and lump things into categories – or else I would never get it done.  Here is what I have so far (you may add to it if you like):

1. Care for our planet: We need to curb pollution and over-use of resources which can alter the life span of our planet in a great many ways.

2. End killing/murder/war/violence: I don’t think this needs much explanation.  It just needs to stop on every level.  we should not take the life of another.

3. Curb disease: The reason I said “curb” and not “cure” is because new disease will always spring up.  We need to cure what we can cure, and make sure everyone on the planet has access to this necessity of life; and we need to work hard to cure future diseases when they arise.

4. Share resources: We need to find a way to share resources in an equitable manner, while not depleting them.  This includes food and water.  No one on this planet should starve, and everyone should have access to clean, potable water.

5. Share opportunities: Everyone should have access to quality education in order to find good jobs and have the chance to work towards a happy life.

6. End bigotry/ (“isms”): We need to treat everyone equally and eliminate bigotry in all its forms: sexism, racism, agism, weightism, etc, etc etc.  This is a basic human right.

7. Share love: We need to love one another.

There you have it (for now). The start of the list.  Start the discussion now – better yet, DO something about it. Nothing you do is ever too small to make a difference.

What would you add?

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

One response »

  1. […] Buddy Joe – posted his Bucket List today. It made me want to re-evaluate mine. Eleven years ago, I wrote one with 33 items. I […]

Leave a Reply

