When Pigs Fly 2

“LOOK, MA, NO HANDS!”

Bucket lists are great, aren’t they? Well, sometimes.  It all depends on how you look at them. If you use them to set goals that will make your life better, then you get the idea of how they should be used.  But if you simply look at them as: “what I want to get or do,” then you are missing the boat. You are thinking about yourself too much.  And even worse, if you start to feel bad because you can’t get or do what is on your list, then it defeats the entire purpose of the list.

I would like to propose a new list, a “Reverse Bucket List,” you could call it. I want this list to feature the things you HAVE ACCOMPLISHED.  I want this list to include the things that people told you you would never be able to do – or you thought you would never be able to do – but you did.  I want this list to include things that were tough to do, and maybe surprised you when you got them done. And I want this list to include things that were meaningful to others and changed peoples lives for the better.

I think you will be surprised when you sit down and write your list – you will be surprised at how much you have accomplished and how good your life has been. Give it a shot.  I want to see as many Reverse Bucket Lists as possible.

Here’s mine.  All these are things that I never thought I could accomplish, were the hardest to do, or the most meaningful. (In no particular order):

1. Fall in love and get married

2. Become a stay-at-home dad and raise a child

3. Travel: fly on a plane to Europe and take a cruise to the Caribbean

4. Write a book

5. Speak in public

6. Show my artwork in public

7. Survive cancer and then counsel other cancer patients

8. Care for my father when he was seriously ill and my mother after he died

9. Mentor at-risk youngsters and change the paths of their lives

10. Perform in skits in front of people

I may have missed a few – I tried to limit it to 10 items – but that only goes to prove my point – we all have led amazing lives!

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

6 responses »

  1. MCS Gal says:

    Great list. A reminder to appreciate who we are and what we are capable of and to not wish our lives away.

    • Joe says:

      Thank you very much. An interesting thing happened while I was making the list: I was going to put things like “bought a house” on there, but it seemed meaningless compared to anything to do with helping people — or the things I have struggled with emotionally. I guess it really shows one what is important.

  2. Colleen says:

    1. general contractor building my own house
    2. received my BS in Zoology and then my Masters in Education
    3. left an abusive relationship
    4. dug out a tree stump by hand (that would be with a pick axe for me and a spoon for my two year old)
    5. led a fundraiser to build a well in Africa
    6. led a fundraiser to save a horse from the meat factory (instead he nibbled grass for the rest of this life)
    7. won a precedent at my college for funding for the equestrian team
    8. created a program to improve reading/testing while on an 8 week replacement teaching position
    9. intervened in a few planned suicides
    10. wrote a book for my son

  3. I’m gonna try this, Joe! Great idea and very inspiring.
    Jim

Leave a Reply

