“There is more hunger for love and appreciation in this world than for bread.” – Mother Theresa

If you have come here today looking for a laugh, you have come to the wrong place. Today I feel sadness in my heart. Today I ask “why?”  Why is it that, when I turn on my television in the morning, I am flooded with stories that start my day with tears? Oh, I know that the easy answer is to turn off my television – but should I? Should I turn a deaf ear to the bad things going on in the world, or should I speak up about them and try to change them?  For me, that is the question that is easy to answer.

“Hatred paralyzes life; love releases it. Hatred confuses life; love harmonizes it. Hatred darkens life; love illumines it.” – Martin Luther King, Jr.

Today I awaken to the story of Rebecca Sedwick, a 12-year old girl who was bullied “by as many as 15 girls who ganged up on her and picked on her for months through online message boards and texts.” On Sept. 9, Sedwick climbed a tower at an abandoned concrete plant and jumped to her death.

“At the touch of love everyone becomes a poet.” – Plato

I write about this today because my mind simply cannot fathom how people can do this to anyone. My mind is overwhelmed with questions about how this could happen and why this seems to be growing more common every day.

Why do we admire those who can insult and ridicule, harass and do harm to others?  Why do we value the sharp-tongued, vitriolic sprayers of negativity? Why do we immediately try to “bring down” anyone who is perceived to be good.

I saw a news story about today’s youth in which a teenage boy admitted that one’s status among his peers could be elevated by how insulting they could be to other people on Facebook. “Take somebody down, and you immediately become popular,” were his approximate words. Bullying is a form of terrorism that seeks to destroy everything in its path, laying waste without exception, until the world is in complete ruins.  It is wrong and we need to stop it!

“We are, each of us angels with only one wing; and we can only fly by embracing one another.” – Luciano de Crescenzo

So, what can we do about this?  Plenty! It all starts with us.  It all starts here and now. Do not admire the mean and the vicious. Do not look up to those who would serve to bring down.Give your praise and admiration to those who would make the world a better place: the positive and the uplifting people of the world.

Speak out about what you see and hear.  Do not sit mute, for silence in itself can be implicit support.  Say something – you have more influence than you know!

“Love must be as much a light, as it is a flame.” – Henry David Thoreau

I would like to propose that we use our power to spread light and love into the world.  I would like each and everyone of us to tell five people a day that they love them.  Tell the people around you – find others in need of uplifting – tell friends – tell strangers.  It doesn’t matter.  Do this at least FIVE TIMES A DAY!

I don’t know what will become of this, but it doesn’t matter.  I could not rest until I spoke up about it.  Let’s give it a try.  We have to – it’s very important.  You know what Mahatma Gandhi said:

“Be the change that you wish to see in the world.”

FIVE TIMES A DAY  —  OR MORE!!!!

Love

I love you!

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

2 responses »

  1. I’m speechless…
    Thank you, Joe!

  2. MCS Gal says:

    The bullying today seems to be relentless but bullying has happened in the sitcoms on tv since at least the 70’s under the guise of humor – and we wonder why people think it is okay. Maybe Leave It To Beaver (and other shows of that era) weren’t the most exciting shows but at least they treated other human beings with kindness.

Leave a Reply

