Stuart

He looked like he could use a name, so I gave him one. I named him Stuart.

Oh, I am sure he probably had a name — if he was loved. I was hoping that he didn’t have one of those dumb names that they give to horses like “Eats Crackers in Bed” or “Thoroughly Listless in July.” I mean, how can you expect a pet to come running to you when you call it something like that? It’s just ridiculous.

What if we had names like that? Can you imagine?

“Oh, here’s my co-worker ‘Sleeps on the job’,” or “I’d like to introduce you to my friend ‘Had an Affair in Jamaica’.” On second thought, maybe it’s a good idea. Maybe we would behave better if we knew that we got named by how we acted.

Anyhow — I didn’t see him that long. I was just passing through. But somehow we connected. Animals are like that. I believe they have spirits just like we do.

He looked right at me. He stood still for me. Our spirits connected for a brief moment in time. I grabbed my camera and took his picture. And that is when I knew that I had to give him a name. He could never be “that horse in the picture.” Not to me. He deserved more than that.

And that is why I named him. His name is Stuart. Isn’t he beautiful!

4 responses »

  1. becky6259 says:

    Yes, he is beautiful! Great picture!

  2. MCS Gal says:

    He is beautiful. He deserved to be named.
    I actually have named lots of animals. We name the wildlife in our yard – “Woody” is the ground hog that pokes his head out of our drainage pipe and “Chanel” is the skunk that wanders the yard. I will say though that every skunk is named “Chanel” or “Chanel’s cousin”.

    • Joe says:

      I do that, too. I like to name all the wild animals that wander through our yard on a regular basis. My wife thinks I’m nuts. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

