Laughter

They say that laughter is the best medicine.  They are wrong. If that were the case, we would have the healthiest nation in the world because it’s being run by a bunch of clowns. But I didn’t come here to insult Congress again — they are doing a fine job of insulting themselves. I came here to talk about the merits (and healing powers) of laughter.

Pajamas!

No, I am not going to talk about pajamas; I just like saying the word because it’s so much fun.

So, what then?

The next time you have to pack a suitcase for a trip to the hospital, make sure you pack your sense of humor.  Trust me, you will need it after you see what they are going to make you wear. (Hint: don’t bend over.)

Experience

I speak from experience – as one who has survived terminal illness – laughter is a powerful weapon against illness.  It can relax you, change your frame of mind, and point you in a positive direction.  And laughing can produce endorphins in the body because it stimulates you.  Endorphins can make you feel good.

It would have been much harder for me to beat cancer without my sense of humor!

You’re in luck!

So, for anyone out there in need of some healing, I have prepared this handy, dandy guide to give you a head’s up about your next trip to the doctor.  Hopefully, if you laugh enough, that may not be for a very long time!  Enjoy!

Top 13 Things You Don’t Want to Hear Your Doctor Say

13. “Are you feeling lucky today?”

12. “Bend over, elbows on the table, and try to relax. I won’t be in there long.”

11. “Please bear with me; I’m a little hung over.”

10.”Hey, Nurse, you wanna Google that for me?  I’m not sure where you find that in a human .”

9. “Sure, an online degree is just as good as a real one.”

8. “It’s a great morning for a colonoscopy!”

7. “This might hurt a bit.”

6. “I was absent the day they covered that in med school.”

5. “Who’s your next of kin?”

4. “What am I operating on again?”

3.”Keep your fingers crossed.”

2. “This is my very first day.”

1. “Oops!”

Okay, now that I have offended enough people, it’s time for me to go.  SMILE!

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

4 responses »

  1. Colleen says:

    This was very funny but I have to admit #2 was too true. Many years ago I had surgery. Two young ladies came in my room. Young lady #1 says, “I need to ask your permission to remove your sutures, since this is my first time doing it alone” And young lady #2 says, “and I need to ask your permission because this is my first time observing the procedure.” I waited a few minutes to answer hoping a few more people wandering around the hall might want to come in practice on me. 😀

    • Joe says:

      This also recently happened to me with a blood test — and the student did a bad job in the process. It was very difficult to stay calm with a needle poking out of my vein and “Curly Howard” trying to remedy his mistakes.

      Namaste

  2. Maggie/Tumbleweed says:

    Joe, you must remember that 50% of all doctors graduated at the bottom half of their class.

Leave a Reply

