Buzzy 0

Pet Lovers

Some people have dogs or cats for pets – not me. I have a pet fly and his name is Buzzy. Isn’t he cute?  (You don’t have to answer.  It’s a rhetorical question.  I already know that he is adorable.)

History

Buzzy and I go way back.  But before I relate the heart-warming tale of man-insect affection, I need to tell you the back story behind why I feel protective of our six-legged friends.

It all started way back when I was a child. (Doesn’t everything? So, be good to your kids – everything starts there. (end of lecture)). Sometime between watching The Three Stooges and The Soupy Sales Show (you can tell where I got my education) I happened to see a re-run of the 1958 classic science fiction/horror film, “The Fly” starring David Hedison and Vincent Price.

fly 1     fly 2

In case you don’t know the story, it’s a light-hearted romantic romp between a beautiful woman and a brainiac scientist who happens to be part musca domestica. It’s sort of a cross between “Beauty and the Beast,” “Romeo and Juliet,” and “Frankenstein.” SPOILER ALERT: you won’t want to miss the last 15 minutes of the film where our hero (well, at least the head and arm of our hero) are placed in jeopardy by a nasty spider seeking lunch, leaving his wife to wonder if she should cancel their sitting to have their annual Christmas card photo taken, and if she can still collect on his insurance.)

fly 3     fly 4

Effects?

Needless to say, this movie scared the Tootsie Rolls out of me, and my protectiveness towards flies and fear of spiders was born. You would think that I would have stopped watching scary science fiction – but no.  A glutton for punishment, I also watched The Incredible Shrinking Man and Tarantula. What an idiot! (Both those movies featured giant spider attacks.)

Time Passes

In my teens years, I did a scientific paper on “The Fly,” examining its faulty premise, explaining in great detail why it simply could not have happened.  This cemented my reputation as a science nerd and sent the girls running – in the opposite direction.

Fast forward to the present day, where my fear of spiders still lingers (I can cope with this, but it’s not easy). Fortunately a fun-loving fly entered my life, and things have been wonderful ever since.

Buzzy

Buzzy is very low maintenance. I don’t have to feed him, as he always seems to find enough to eat.  I never have to walk him either. (He does his business in private when no one is looking – I think.) He likes to sit on my shoulder when I am writing, and he always remembers to remind me when it’s time to watch my favorite TV program. Here are some pictures from my treasured photo album (click to enlarge):

exericse    Waiting for Santa

Hiding Easter    Hamming it up

time out    Playing Poker

Aren’t pets amazing!  Don’t you just love them!

SMILE!

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

8 responses »

  1. Diane says:

    You are just too funny.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. “Love”…..well that might just be going a bit too far I think! Your photos are kinda cute though. I didn’t even think I’d say that but well what can you say…tehehe.

  3. I’m pretty sure Buzzy got into my apartment yesterday. He was flying around for ages and landed on my computer. I tried to capture him with the cap from my water bottle but he got away and I guess he flew back to you because I haven’t seen him since!

  4. […] My pet fly, Buzzy – well he didn’t say it, but does writing it in the pudding […]

  5. […] my window was completely covered. My family has been snowed in, and I hardly saw them.  And Buzzy, my pet fly, was off vacationing in Europe. These indeed were sad days. But now they are […]

Leave a Reply

