Image1

I feel very strange at the moment.  You see, I am not “big” on awards; but at the same time I don’t like to offend anyone. So I suppose I will just try my best to post something and let the chips fall where they may. 

After all, isn’t that what you are supposed to do – just do your best?That’s what they teach you in school.  That’s what your parents tell you. So it must be true.

So I guess I have been nominated for an award again, and I am very flattered, especially because this is for being loyal, something which is very important to me. I think I am supposed to nominate 15 others who are loyal, but I am not sure that I have that many followers. And if I do and nominate some of them, won’t others be hurt? Maybe I can skip that part and escape the wrath of the award gods.

Anyhow, I have been nominated by Colleen O’Brien, a dear friend of mine who is disabled because she has a condition called “multiple chemical sensitivity.” This means that she is allergic to a lot of man-made substances, and has a hard time leaving the house without getting very sick. Colleen doesn’t feel sorry for herself despite her serious condition.  Instead she chooses to uplift others with a message of hope for a healthy, chemical-free future. And that is why she is my hero.

This may be the first time she is hearing (reading) those words, so it may be a shock to her – but it’s true.  She is my hero.  I have seen her face adversity so many times, yet she always tries to look to the positive.  I admire that so much that words cannot even begin to explain it.

Colleen writes a blog called: “Life in the City with a Future,” and it is beyond compelling. I would recommend it to everyone. She talks about her struggles, her goals, and adds some beautiful nature pictures to inspire. It is definitely worth your time to check it out.

Well, I guess I didn’t do this “award thing” the right way; but it wouldn’t be the first time that I didn’t follow directions; and I’m sure it won’t be the last.  I am supposed to post 7 facts about myself, so I guess I can do that part and maybe everyone won’t be so angry.  Here goes:

1. I almost died when I was a baby, and several times since, but always managed to pull through.  So I guess that means I am supposed to be here.

2. My best and most favorite job I ever had was that of being a stay-at-home dad, and raising my wonderful daughter who is my world.  I believe that I have been put on this planet to serve others.

3. I have been on television a few times – probably because they ran out of “Sponge Bob” reruns and had nothing better to use to fill the time.

4.  I have written several books and am currently working on another. I have also done book readings and interviews in front of people and I didn’t pass out!

5. I love baseball, and tend to write about it a lot. One of my boyhood heroes was Mickey Mantle, who hit hit a walk-off home run “for me” when I was at a Yankees game for my birthday.

6.  I play the guitar, but never tell people that I do.

7. I have a hard time coming up with more than 6 things about me. Smile

Okay, award gods, am I done yet?

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

3 responses »

  1. Colleen says:

    You are such rebel. Thank you for your kind words, Joe. I’ll let you know when I stop blushing. I too know what you mean about the nominating. Some like you were easy. I was stressed at first about nominating but then I let the stats page pick the first 6 — by those who commented the most and would accept awards and then I nominated some of my first followers that are still visiting. I got down to one spot left and I had a bunch of people that “like” my Sunday photos – -I asked for a sign and the “Star” flashed in the upper corner of the site and sure enough it was one of the people that “likes” my site often and I filled the last spot. You are a blessing Joe! 😀

  2. MCS Gal says:

    My philosophy on the awards is that there is no “right” way to post them. I have seen the rules for different awards mutate over time. I like your post.

Leave a Reply

