Frito Love

YES!

Believe it or not, being OCD has many advantages. If you don’t believe me, now is a good time to go read somebody else’s blog, because I am going to tell you why, and you will become quite jealous. Then you will be tempted to start a movement to make everyone OCD, and I will become the poster child for mental instability (if that hasn’t already occurred.)

After that, everyone will be the same, so nobody will read anybody else’s blogs, and the world will be too homogenous and boring.  See what you started?  Aren’t you ashamed of yourself?

Take a Cleansing Breath

Okay.  I have calmed down now. I have figured a way out of this dilemma: I will only tell you a little bit about the upside of OCD to make it easier for you to handle.

Most people can recognize some of the common traits associated with Obsessive Compulsive Disorder: a tendency to repeat one’s self over and over, a need to do things a certain way, a tendency to repeat one’s self over and over, a compulsion to put things in a certain order, and a tendency to repeat one’s self over and over. But did you know that OCD “sufferers,” (henceforth known as “Obies,” as it just sounds like more fun) tend to accomplish more things because they are very organized and persistent. Trust me, we Obies can be relentless.

So?

Don’t get arrogant with me, I am getting to the point, and the point is: Obies can enjoy Christmas more than others because of their so-called “condition.” For example: when do you start your Christmas shopping and when do you end it? I have started my Christmas as early as January, taking advantage of the HUGE after-Christmas sales.  I saved a bundle. The only down side to that was that I forgot where I put a few of the gifts and had to buy more for a couple of people.  Then, I found them, so they wound up getting extra. (Okay, so that’s a push.)

The most important thing is that I often finish my Christmas shopping the first week of December.  That leaves me more time for fun and less time for stress as the big day approaches. Most of my cooking, decorating and wrapping is done well before the 15th, giving me a nice, long period of time in which I can visit friends and spread holiday cheer.

So?

Yeah, I guess that wasn’t too convincing was it?  It kinda makes you feel more stressed out to see someone who is organized when you aren’t.  Sorry about that.  Maybe I better drop the whole thing.  Maybe I better change the subject.

I Already Got Everything I Want for Christmas

Sometimes when you simplify your life to the point where stress goes away and you have fun, people look at you like you are from another planet. They wonder why you aren’t running around like crazy, just like everyone else.  And then when you tell them you don’t want anything for Christmas, they think you are certifiable. But it’s true.  I really don’t care what is under my tree.  Other things mean so much more: time with my family, giving to others, health…

The other day, I received the best present ever (No, not the Fritos, even though that was a gift I received.  I put that there to throw you off.) I was at a friend’s house, and we were having lunch and exchanging gifts.  That is when I got the Fritos – but I got a whole lot more. She thanked me for visiting and said “This is my Christmas.” And then she smiled. And that was the best Christmas present anyone could ever give to me – a smile.

I like being an Obie, because I get to cross off all the tiny things on my holiday to-do list early, and then I enjoy the holiday.  Now (being done) I can go to the mall and enjoy the sights, sounds and smells of the season. I can drive around town slowly and enjoy the Christmas lights.  I have time to visit friends and loved ones.

This is the best time of the year – or at least that is what was intended – let’s make sure that we can simplify our lives so that we are bathed in the true meaning of the season.

All my best to everyone for a wonderful holiday season!

SMILE!

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

One response »

  1. Colleen says:

    😀 🙂 😀 🙂 😀

Leave a Reply

