Nothing

Dreams and Meaning

Do you believe that your dreams serve an important function?  I do. Some experts believe that dreams are the conduit that our subconscious uses to tell us our deepest, most truthful thoughts and desires.  Others believe that they are the mind’s way of dealing with difficult things.

If you are the kind of person who remembers your dreams, then you have the ability to test out these theories. But it’s not easy – it takes a lot of insight and self-reflection, because different dreams try to tell you different things.  Some are as simple as “I am hungry” or “I have to go to the bathroom.”  Don’t sweat it.  It happens.  The dream above is telling me that I wish I had abs as good as that guy.

An Oswego State Alum

I had a Seinfeld dream the other night. If you recall, the show was self-labeled “a show about nothing,” and that is why I use the term to apply to this dream.

I suppose that some people would call this dream a “lucid dream,” because I was totally aware of everything in it: a participant and an observer at the same time. In the dream, I appeared to be searching.  I was confused.  I felt lost.  After a while, people entered and left my dream, yet nothing at all happened.  That is when (in the dream) I told myself, “This is a dream about nothing,” and I awoke, remembering the whole thing.

There’s More

I could not release the dream.  I feel like it had to have a meaning: Do I feel lost in my life?  Am I without direction or meaning or purpose? These are unsettling thoughts that most of us face.

So, where do we find the answers?  Within?  Without?  Both? How does anyone know that the path they have chosen is the one on which they are meant to be?  Or is this always true? Maybe we are meant to try as many things as possible, and to never have the answers.  Maybe that is the only way to truly experience life.

For myself, I know that my light shines the brightest whenever I help another person, and whenever I create something that had not previously existed.  Those are my two passions.  They are what bring me love, and love is what I seek the most.

So, I guess this “dream about nothing” actually did have meaning.  It caused me to think about my place in life.  Whew!  Now I can relax and go back to sleep.

SMILE – and DARE TO DREAM!

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

Leave a Reply

