Skold

International Good Will

Now that the 2014 Sochi Olympics are drawing to a close, I thought it to be a good idea to write my impressions of the games. However, the American Ambassador has made it perfectly clear the potential my words have to instigate global conflict; and I have been advised to wait – at least until all the athletes and tourists are safely home.

Being someone who always does as I am told (insert slight chuckle here), I have decided to comply with his wishes.  Therefore, I will instead publish this handy, dandy list of important phrases to know when visiting Russia in the future (book your hotel rooms now for this summer, as I hear the ones with toilet paper go fast).

Here are the most used phrases in Sochi according to the American Bureau of Statistics: (Extensive research has been done in order to list the phrases in traditional Russian and English, and to maintain accuracy)

Phrases

1.  Привет: “Hello”

2.  Могу я получать жаркое с этим:  “Can I get fries with that?”

3. Какое мясо – это:  “What kind of meat is this?”

4.  Ваша сестра – горячая штучка:  “Your sister is a hottie”

5. Каждый раз, когда я делаю телефонный звонок, я слышу дыхание на заднем плане:  “Whenever I make a phone call, I hear breathing in the background.”

6. Я не провожу контрабандой свеклу в своих штанах:  “I am not smuggling beets in my pants.”

7. Водка, которая, как предполагают, была этим цветом:  “Is vodka supposed to be this color?”

8. Это не моя нога: “That is not my leg!”

9. До свидания и удача в Сибири: “Goodbye and good luck in Siberia.”

10 .В моей ванной должна действительно быть камера?: “Does there really need to be a camera in my bathroom?”

11. Мне действительно понравился Чеков в Звездном пути:  “I really liked Chekov in Star Trek.”

12: Я поддерживал Вас во Второй мировой войне:   “I was rooting for you in World War II”

13. Туалет для одного, пожалуйста: “Toilet for one, please.”

There.  I have done my part to help bolster international relations.  I hope this helps.  SMILE!

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

Leave a Reply

