silent pain

A Good Day

Today has been a good day, and it isn’t even half-way done: how amazing is that!

It started with an outing, a breakfast get-together I attended early this morning with a fairly large group of people.  Of course, this pushed all my “anxiety buttons” and I was in panic mode. I won’t belabor the negativity or the struggle.  All that I will say is that I never once thought about not going. I knew it would not be easy for me, but I wanted to go. And that trumps fear.  I have promised myself that I will not back away from things simply because of fear. I attended the breakfast and had a good time. (I always knew that would happen, so I used it as part of my positive self-talk).

Thoughts

On the way home, I was consumed by a thought: I wondered how many people really understand the makeup of a shy person. Over the years I have been called many things: aloof, arrogant, serious, or stuck up.  All of these terms came from people who did not know me.  All they saw was a person who did not talk, did not make eye contact, or perhaps, walked right past them without acknowledging them.  What they really saw was a person who was scared.  What they really saw was a person suffering tremendous pain.

Traits

I am a person who hears a lot of noise and walks away from it, who sees a crowd and avoids it, and who sees the spotlight of attention and hides from it. Though a lover of people, I am nervous around them.  At times, this has felt as crippling as a physical disease, as it impacts the course of my life as well as the enjoyment I get from it.

Fun

I admire outgoing, confident people. I admire people who can talk to strangers or speak in front of a crowd without breaking a sweat.  And, just once in my life I would like to know what it felt like to be the life of the party.

Don’t get me wrong, I do have fun, and I do participate in life and do things; it’s just never easy.  I often wish it was easy, and that I didn’t have to struggle with all the “baggage” that I carry around.

The funny thing about me is that, once people get to know me and see my other, fun side, I often hear statements like, “You seem like a totally different person. I had no idea that you were like this.”

Advice

My point is that people should not jump to conclusions.  To quote a cliché, “don’t judge a book by its cover.” The person you are judging – and ignoring – has the potential to be a good friend.  Sometimes they just need a helping hand.  They welcome being approached by others who have an easy time starting a conversation. They are tired of being alone simply because they are too nervous to ask others to do things with them.

Hug a shy person today!  What’s the worst that can happen – they pass out?

SMILE!

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

4 responses »

  1. I WAS THE CLASS CLOWN— I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN OUTGOING— & I NEVER KNEW A STRANGER—I HAD JOBS THAT I SPOKE BEFORE LARGE GROUPS & I THINK IT WAS MY WAY OF COPING WITH THE ABUSE I GREW UP WITH!!!!!!!!!! SO I TOTALLY AGREE– DON’T JUDGE A BOOK BY IT’S COVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

    • Joe says:

      I had the potential to be the class clown, but was always too afraid to open my mouth. 🙂 Thank you for your comment.

  2. Colleen says:

    People are always shocked to find out that I’m shy — I’m accused of being a snob or stuck up more times then I would like to count. Thanks for putting a voice to the pain of shyness. 😀

  3. mcsgal says:

    In a large group (meaning more than 4 or 5 people), I prefer to be a fly on the wall. I enjoy watching and listening. It has taken years for me to learn to get the courage to talk to people I don’t know – I’m still not comfortable initiating a conversation, but I can do it now. People from my childhood remember me as very shy. People who met me as an adult are surprised to hear that. I am still shy – I have just learned to compensate in most (not all) situations.

Leave a Reply

