Bad_Day

Cheer Up!

When life has got you down, consider this: things could always be worse. Not that that is any consolation; but if you look at that statement, you will notice that it also means your situation is better than other situations.  Feeling better yet?  I didn’t think so.

Look on the Bright Side

Consider if you will, the case of 78-year old Walter Williams, the Mississippi Man who awoke to find himself in a body bag at the morgue, waiting to be embalmed.  Really, does it get any worse than that?

The next time you get annoyed because you have to wait in line at the store, or if you run out of your popcorn before the end of the movie, or if you get out of your car and step in a puddle of slush up to you kneecap, say to yourself “At least I am not in a body bag at the morgue.”  That kind of puts it into perspective.

There are Always Two Sides

There are always AT LEAST two sides to every situation.  Life is not all either good or bad, black or white, Fritos or beets.  Most of the time it is a shade of gray (not just 50) – somewhere in between.

We often forget the good things because we take them for granted.  We wake up in the morning (positives): we are alive,  we have oxygen to breath, and we have the great potential of the day. We shuffle to the kitchen, moping, and we eat another boring bowl of oatmeal (positives): we have a roof over our heads and food on our table.  We grumble as we sit in traffic as we drive to our job (positives): we are employed and are blessed to have the skill, opportunity, and freedom to be able to drive and go wherever we desire.

Everything is like that, and yet some people choose to dwell on the negative.

Reality

Trust me, I am not naïve.  I know that real problems exist in the world.  But right now, we are still lucky to have a world while there is time left to fix it.  So forget about the small things.  They don’t amount to much. Let’s all set our sites on the big things, and see if we can solve some problems to make everyone’s lives better. Let’s keep the planet away from that morgue as long as possible!

Have a wonderful day!

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

One response »

  1. arkansasrose says:

    I wonder if it makes me a bad person to have giggled at the morgue story.

    I have a very bad habit of looking at the negative. I’m kinda the “I might not be in the morgue, but I still have to deal with x, and that makes my day shitty.” type. I’m trying harder to change that and it’s a slow work in progress.

    I’m having one of those “I’d rather be in the morgue” days, thankfully they don’t last long.

Leave a Reply

