164006_orig

This is a special day for me.  Ever since I was a boy, it had special meaning.  Today is St. Joseph’s Day.

card

I first found out about the day at an early age, when I received a greeting card in the mail.  It was from my grandmother, and it had money in it! Back then, this was a big thing.

I had no idea why I received the card, or why I deserved the money, so I asked my mother for an explanation.  That is when I learned about St. Joseph – a pretty important guy.

Up until that time, when I heard the name St. Joseph, I thought about baby aspirin, the kind that are supposed to be orange-flavored, but still make you gag when you chew them.  I knew there were hospitals named for St. Joseph, too, so naturally I assumed anything to do with him had to have medical implications.

St Joseph

Boy, was I wrong! St. Joseph was the stepfather of Jesus, the husband of Mary, and integral in the faith of those who are Christian.

St.Joseph has several feasts named for him, and in some countries, his day is celebrated as Father’s Day! And, since the day is celebrated on March 19th, it is officially the last full day of winter.  In a way, it ushers in the springtime.

St. Joseph is also the patron saint of Italy, as he is revered in the Catholic Church, and that is where my grandmother enters the story. She was devoutly religious until the day she died, and probably had more on an effect on my spirituality than any person I have ever met. She was all-loving, all-accepting, and enjoyed every single day she was on Earth.

zeppole-11

Today is a special day for me; not just because I am named Joseph, or because I love springtime. Not because I like people to make a fuss over me (who doesn’t?) or send me cards and gifts (contact me later to find out where you can send all my presents).

Today is special for me because today is the day that I remember my grandmother.  She always made me feel special, no matter how badly I messed up.  She was an angel, and I know that for sure because that was her name: Angelina.  In Italian, that means “little angel.”

I miss you, Grandma!

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

2 responses »

  1. Sarah says:

    Happy St. Joseph’s Day. That was a lovely tribute to your grandmother. She sounds like a lovely lady, I wish I could have met her. 🙂

Leave a Reply

