Image5

Gifts

I awoke this morning with the mindset that I would write a blog entry today; but I had no idea what to write.  My rule of thumb is: “if you don’t have anything good to write, then don’t write anything,” (which I have violated several times).  I was prepared NOT to write unless an idea hit me – and it did – BIG TIME.

I received a gift from a friend; although she won’t know it until she reads this entry.  The gift was in the form of her blog entry for today, which I thought was a very important posting.  The title of it is: “Day 81 in the Pursuit of Love,” but don’t let that long title confuse you.  This is just one in her series of entries, so that is why you can’t figure out what it’s about by the title. It is worth reading if you have a chance.  Please check it out.

Image8

Thoughts

I commented about her post, and I mentioned about how we spent so much of our time chasing “the next big thing,” and missing out on the important things in life.

And that got me to think about what a “big thing” is – and what the first and BIGGEST thing is.  This is an easy one and I bet you have figured it out by now. The first big thing is LOVE.

Image6

Duh!

Maybe by now you are saying, “Duh! Of course. Tell me something I don’t know.” And you have a valid point,  But, my point is that love is not thought about enough.  It is not talked about enough.  Love should be at the center of everything we do.  Just think about how much better the world could be if we made this our credo – and we followed it.

Image7

Actions

So today, when you are out and about, or doing whatever you want to do, take a moment to step back and ask, “where is the love?” The more you think about it – the more you bring it into your being and your focus – the more it will find you.

May your day be surrounded by love!

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

3 responses »

  1. Colleen says:

    I’m loving the love Joe. I just finished a meditation on love and WHAM there was your post. I truly hope everyone takes up your suggestion. It seems people so often take pride in the causes that anger them and are embarrassed to tell someone they love them. Love, Colleen 😀

  2. Sarah says:

    Interesting timing Joe. I was just thinking about my next post and I’d decided it should be about love. I’ve been having difficulty coming up with a short snappy quote that I could put into visual form. It’s really hard because everything sounds cliched – “All you need is love”, “love is the answer” – the kind of things that people read and it doesn’t get the brain cells going. You’re right, we don’t think about love enough. We would say we know that it’s the answer but we don’t often think about what that really means.

  3. mcsgal says:

    What a different place our world would be if we always acted with love.

Leave a Reply

