Image3

Sadness

I am in a bad mood; and it’s all my fault.  I didn’t take my own advice, and now I am in this rut. How stupid is that? (No need to answer – I already know.)

What caused this rut is my watching too much television and actually paying attention to what they were saying.  That was my first mistake. My second mistake was that I was watching the news.  Everyone knows the news is nothing but 3 minutes of good news at the end of 18 minutes of “doom and gloom” broken up by 9 minutes of commercials that tell me what’s wrong with myself, and that I better get to a doctor real soon.

If you do the math you will see that this is a 6:3:1 ratio, or basically a 9:1 ratio of negative to positive.  Is life really this bad or is somebody manipulating us?

There’s More

Wait, it gets worse. I also noticed a common thread to almost every story that I saw. See if you can pick it out.

1. There was a tragic shooting at Fort Hood in Texas. An alleged gunman allegedly shot some probably-real people and then allegedly turned his weapon upon himself, sources say. It appears as if the gunman was undergoing examination/counseling for “Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.” Officials are now investigating to see if counselors made a mistake and should have spotted his problem before the tragic shooting.

2.  In Washington, searchers are still looking for the bodies of the missing people who are thought to have perished in the devastating mudslide that just occurred. Investigators are looking into the claim that city officials made a mistake by allowing people to settle in a dangerous area.

3. Protestors from China are headed to Malaysia to confront their government and airline officials for withholding the truth about their mistakes in the disappearance of flight 370.

4. Angry parents are demanding answers in regards to how schools can prevent youngsters from bringing weapons into the building. Meetings will be held to assess blame.

The list goes on.

Commonality

It appeared to me that in each of these stories, people were looking to point the finger at someone.  They were looking for a simple way to place blame upon someone.  And in a lot of cases, lawsuits would follow.

Simply put: I don’t get this.

If someone picks up a gun and kills someone, aren’t they to blame? Why do we need to look for excuses like: they were on cold medication, or a counselor missed the signs? Why do we need to blame someone else and then sue that person?

If there is a plane crash or a natural disaster, why do we look for someone responsible for this? Do we need to do that to make ourselves feel better?  And will money really ease the pain?  Why can’t we accept the fact that accidents happen, or that people make innocent mistakes?

And why is the school system all of a sudden responsible for everything that goes wrong with our children?  If a boy brings a gun to school, where did he get it, and why didn’t his parents check his backpack before he left for school?

Are we all playing the blame game?  Are we all shirking our responsibilities?  I don’t expect answers – it’s too complicated – but I would be happy if people would just think about these things once in a while; and if we took responsibility for our actions and tried to do the right things.  That’s about the best we can do.

As for me, I am in a bad mood, but it’s my own fault and no one else’s.  And now I will go and change it.

SMILE!

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

2 responses »

  1. Diane Sokolowski says:

    Well said!!!! Totally agree.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Colleen says:

    Bad mood or not you make a great point. Very passionate piece. Thanks for caring enough to take a stand and give the rest of something to think about. 😀

Leave a Reply

