Weeds of Love

…And the Wind Blows…

I had been struggling the past week or so; nothing major, the stuff we all face on a daily basis. I still have all my major body parts, and I can still touch my toes, so that must mean that I am fine. One of the side-effects of this malaise has been writer’s block.  It happens all the time; and to the dismay of others, it goes away and I write again.  But this time it was frustrating because I did not want to wait.  I wanted to write.

Love is in the Air

And then it happened. I opened my inbox today and read the most delightful blog post by my good friend, Colleen.  Here is the link to it: REALLY GOOD POST.  But read mine first, so you can understand what happened. Colleen writes about love, and she is wonderfully in tune with nature and our planet.  As soon as I read her latest endeavor, the floodgates had been opened and my writer’s block was gone.  In fact, I had so many ideas that I had to jot down notes so that I would not forget them – that’s how fast they were coming.

Gardening and Love

Colleen talks about planting seeds of love, and that caused me to flashback to my boyhood, when I spent many a reluctant Saturday doing chores for my father before being allowed to be with my friends (yes, that is actually how people behaved back then.)

One of the chores I had to do was “weeding.”  If there was a weed on our lawn (God forbid), I had to dig it up – and make sure I got the roots or else it would come back. Well, there was this one Saturday in particular when all that I could think of was playing baseball – not weeding. I was antsy and impatient as usual, and I let my youthful curiosity (and wise-guy mouth) get the best of me.

“Hey Dad, “ I asked, “You said to dig up all the weeds, right?”

My father nodded.  He did not speak much unless it was to bark commands.

“Well how do I know which ones are the weeds?  I mean, what is the difference?  They’re all plants, right?”

“They’re not all the same,” he growled. “The weeds are stronger and grow faster.  We have to kill them.”

That got me wondering. “Hey, Dad, why don’t people just grow weeds instead of grass.  It would be so much easier.”

I am certain that you can anticipate the outcome.  He didn’t have a good explanation.  My chores doubled instantly.  After that, I kept my mouth shut.

Flash Ahead in Time

That thought has always puzzled me: why do some things get labeled weeds and others not? And who decides what is beautiful and what isn’t?  A dandelion looks like a lot of other flowers. Why do we take something that is strong, and immediately get rid of it? (As you can tell, grown-ups used to get annoyed by all my questions.  And to be honest, not much has changed.  Now I get to annoy a lot more people because I know more people.)

Love

I always used to visualize the act of spreading love in many ways.  Sometimes it was casting a stone into a still pond, the ripples spreading outward endlessly. Other times, it was planting a tree that spread love in its seeds.  And now, I also see love as a weed, because after all, if we are going to plant something that is intended to spread, shouldn’t we plant something that is strong and spreads easily?

My simple message today is to spread love, and make it strong and hearty. Ignore the labels and the pigeonhole way of looking at the world. Turn it on its ear.  It all starts with you – right there in your heart.

Have a wonderful day!

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

7 responses »

  1. anfinsenart says:

    Lovely post! Do you do your own photographs? Beautiful! See you do get outside.

    • Joe says:

      Some of the photos are my own, some aren’t. Though if you see anything weird, I am the one that does the graphics, so sometimes I take other shots and then compile them into another to make the concept. I do my lettering, too.

  2. Colleen says:

    Thanks for the compliment Joe. Glad the ideas are flowing again. 😀 I enjoyed your post as well. As I read the one part I kept thinking, “Don’t say that Joe. Oh no Joe. Oh Joe is so grounded.” 😀

  3. Diane Sokolowski says:

    Wonderful!!! Just what I needed today.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  4. […] And I read the funny comments from my fellow bloggers (Sonda and Sarah). I am loved. And I read, Joe’s post to find out that I am indeed a spiritual gardener. I am needed — I have a purpose. And I got […]

  5. Sarah says:

    Colleen has that effect on me too Joe. 😀 She’s a great muse.

  6. mcsgal says:

    I like your post. It made me think of what the world would be like if we stopped judging weeds and stopped judging people.

Leave a Reply

