Happy

Danger!

I might be in big trouble.  If you don’t hear from me in a couple of days, call 9-1-1. I just realized yet another way that I don’t fit into this world; and when people find out, well, it might be curtains for me.  That’s right: the old dirt nap. You see, I am a happy person, and that is not what the world wants.

Me?

Happy2

I wake up happy.  I love mornings, and usually have a smile upon my face before my feet hit the floor.  I can’t wait to get going.  I am eager to see what each new day will bring. But the weird thing about that is my happiness is a carryover from the previous day.  I even sleep happy.  I seldom have nightmares, and often wake people up in the middle of the night because I am having a funny dream and laughing out loud.

Happy3

Sometimes I will laugh during the day, and people will ask me about it.  They usually think they have done something funny; but I explain that they haven’t, and that sometimes I just get amusing thoughts and they make me laugh.  You should see the weird looks I get at that point. They keep their distance after that.  A straightjacket has been mentioned several times, and I always reply “Nah, I don’ think you really need one.”

Rocking the Boat

Happy4

Oh, I know I am making trouble. People just aren’t supposed to be happy. You might think otherwise. After all, isn’t “the pursuit of happiness” one of the basic rights we have?  You would think that the majority of us would have succeeded by now, but I still have my doubts for several reasons. Let’s see if any of these make sense or not.  Either way, if they make you laugh, then what could be better?

Politicians

Happy5

I don’t want to discuss political ideology.  I don’t want to complain about this country or even how we could accomplish things if we put our minds to it.  I just want to mention what I noticed about politicians: they have to convince you that things are bad in order to get elected. The people trying to get into power have to convince you that those already in power have messed things up. The people in power  have to convince you that their opponents would make things worse.  And both sides try to portray each other as corrupt and incompetent.  Everyone does it.  That’s why they call them “negative ads.” Are negative ads supposed to make us feel good or bad?  You decide.

Happy6

The Media

Seems like these guys are always to blame.  Surely they can’t be responsible yet another time?  Yes, they can.

If you watch television, you will see all kinds of ads where happy people frolic in fields of flowers with smiles glued to their faces – and why?  Because they drank the right cola, have more shoes than anyone else, or have the latest “thing.”

Then you start to think “Gee, that could be me.  I could be happy, too, if I only bought that stuff.” You rush to the store, lay down your cash, get home and start to wonder if you bought the right thing or not because what you just purchased didn’t make you happy.

What it boils down to is this: the media’s job is not to make you happy.  It is to make you unhappy to the point where you will buy the things they say will make you happy. This is especially evident in newscasts, which are roughly 90%  negative.  The next time you watch the news, pay attention to who its advertisers are: primarily drug companies.  Their philosophy is to point out what is “wrong” with you so that you buy their drugs and fix the problem – thereby finding happiness. If you ask me, this sounds more like brainwashing than helping you

Happy7

Duck!

You may or may not agree with me.  You may think I’m nuts. (You wouldn’t be the first one.) But sometimes it feels like we are slowly being conditioned to chase happiness, when it is right inside us, right now. I look around and see such sadness, when life doesn’t have to be like this.

I see young people posting hundreds of selfies of themselves smiling with their friends and having good times. Then, right after that, they post things like “I have no life” or “I have no friends.” Why have we slipped into this sad state of affairs? And why are we losing our young people? I think that it is because we look for our happiness from outside of ourselves. We look to ease pain with material goods, or dull it by some sort of chemical means.

We have forgotten what happiness is.

When you think of happiness, what comes to mind?  A puppy when it sees you?  A baby, perhaps.  Why is it that babies can show such unbridled joy, yet somewhere along the way, we forget how to do this?  Is this life’s plan?  I say “no.” Life’s plan is to be happy, even if it is simply for being alive.  Life;s plan is to share that happiness – and love – with others and have it returned to you multiplied over and over again.

This is our destiny.  This is the way to be fruitful.  It’s like our on/off switch – a red or green light that shines inside us.  I choose to be happy.  I choose to have funny thoughts and dreams that make me smile.  I choose to share my happiness and my love with others. What do you choose?

Happy8

SMILE!!

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

One response »

  1. Colleen says:

    I choose happy. Today it made me happy to see an opossum on my walk. I knew I was happy when I got home and the three pictures I took of the opossum where totally messed up when I transferred them to my computer. They looked fine on my camera screen. All the other photos transferred fine. Just not those 3. So here’s the happiness. Instead of feeling mad or disappointed — I was happy that I get the adventure to go find the opossum tomorrow and try again. 😀

Leave a Reply

