Image1

Time to Reflect

Sunday is Father’s Day, and that means different things to different people. It’s as unique as each father, and the role they choose to play in their family. I happened to be a bit ahead of the curve, and was a stay-at-home dad a quarter of a century ago, when men did not do that. It wasn’t easy – primarily because of the bigotry I had to endure – but it was the best thing I have ever done in my life.  I wish I was still doing it.

My dad was different: a traditional male in a traditional role, with his emotion in check deep inside him.  It was the way men acted back then.  And, just as women were trapped in their roles, so were men.

But no matter what generation you belong to, there is good and bad. Today I want to reflect upon the five gifts my father gave me, and thank him for these gifts.  Although he is no longer with us, I am certain he will receive my love.

Five Gifts My Father Gave Me (A Father’s Advice)

1. WORK HARD. No matter what you do, no matter where you work, always put forth great effort. Use all your muscles and all your talents, and never be afraid to roll up your sleeves for anything. You have to put in the time – no shortcuts. Good things might happen.

2. WORK SKILLFULLY. Work is not just a matter of putting in the hours, for what good is it to spend your time without giving it your best? Be diligent and patient, and make sure that you would be proud to put your name on whatever you do.  Stand behind your work.

3. STICK TO YOUR GUNS. Do not be swayed by popular opinion. If you feel that you are right, stick up for yourself. It does not matter what others say.  It does not matter what others thinks.  Always do the right thing.

4. LOVE OUR PLANET. Have respect for the place we live. Do not over-consume its resources.  Do not take away its beauty.  Do not pollute. Have respect for all living creatures. And try to give back to the land, whenever possible.

5. DARE TO DREAM. Do not take no for an answer.  If you fail, start over: try harder. Do not let the negative words or actions of others stand in your way of your dream.  Dreams do come true.  When your does, start working toward your next one.

My father has been gone for eight years now, but I still hear his voice every day, giving me advice about how to live and how to be a man. His family was very important to him, and he passed that down to me as well. So for now I would simply like to say: “Thank you, Dad.  I love you and I miss you.”

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

4 responses »

  1. anfinsenart says:

    A nice tribute! My father taught me to be honest and to have integrity. These two traits alone have made me a better person.

  2. Jim says:

    My dad taught me to follow my dreams right up to their natural (or unnatural) ending. His dream was not the same as mine, but the passion was the same and that helps me feel really close to him. Thanks for a great post, Joe.

  3. mcsgal says:

    Those are values my father had. Thanks for your post.

  4. Colleen says:

    Wonderful post Joe. I lost my dad when I was young — but what he taught me was unconditional love and if you face your fears your dream will be on the other side.

Leave a Reply

