Hounded

Her name is Carley and she visits me on Sunday, the day when all good grandchildren visit their grandparents.  The only thing is: Carley is a dog. That doesn’t bother me one bit. She is usually quiet and well-behaved (unless she spots a cat – or a squirrel – or a ball – or just about anything else that looks like it’s more fun than sitting still). And since she loves Fritos, she is a dog after my own heart. (We like to share a bag during baseball games).

Accommodations must be made when Carly visits. Although I would set a place for her at the family dinner table if they let me, that is frowned upon.  So Carley is forced to eat out of a bowl on the kitchen floor.  I tried joining her once, and guess what?  That was frowned upon, too. (Who makes these rules, anyhow?)

Carley can be a handful at times. She is always hungry – and I mean ALWAYS! She would dig through the garbage if we didn’t pay close attention.  And she likes to stand right behind you when you are at the stove cooking, which makes me nervous that I will spill something on her – though she probably wouldn’t mind if it was edible. Yesterday, I gave her a can of dog food (filet mignon because she deserves the best, even though it looked like slop and smelled even worse than it looked) and I timed her. The food was gone in roughly 20 seconds.

Carley likes to chew through leashes and constantly tries to escape. I think she is part Steve McQueen (younger readers will have to look this up in order to see if the joke is funny). She loves to run, but that is a good thing because it tires her out so she can have her nap.  The only unfortunate thing about that is that she likes to sprawl out on the couch, taking up space for three humans, who are then forced to sit on the floor.

I am particularly fond of Carley’s taste in music and her ability to “cut a rug.” Here’s an example.  The following clip is of Carley moving to the soothing tones of Led Zeppelin, her favorite band.  See if you can guess the name of the song. (For copyright purposes, they will not let me publish the soundtrack to this – but I can assure you, it’s hysterical. Contact me if you want me to send you the original).

Hot Dog!

SMILE!!

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

2 responses »

  1. words4jp says:

    You are a totally hip grandpa;) I can tell Carly loves you (and she has you wrapped around a paw or two or three or…..)

  2. Stephanie says:

    We know who rules the roost when Carley is around and it isn’t you 🙂
    She is cute and entertaining.

Leave a Reply

