Centerpiece

Our Thanksgiving Table Centerpiece

 

The Universe Speaks

I am writing this blog entry because of the events of the past few days, and because of this story which my friend Colleen has just submitted.  Please read it if you have a chance.

A few days ago, I wrote about how food did not matter to me on Thanksgiving.  I said that friends and family were more important (I also listed a few things for which I am thankful). Well, I guess The Universe was listening to my words, and they decided to put me to the test to see if I was telling the truth.  I hope I passed the test.  You be the judge.

The Holiday Unfolds

Everybody (I won’t name names because I love my family and friends, and Christmas is right around the corner) was busy fretting about the big day and the traditional feast – not me.  This time, I was pretty relaxed.  I heard things like “do we have enough food?” “who’s making the pies?” “will there be enough?” I actually thought it was amusing after a while.  I told myself not to focus on anyone else’s stress because that might elevate my own.  I was determined to enjoy the day no matter what.

Food “Disasters”

Dinner was set for 2:00 pm.  People would arrive hungry, and immediately start to eat.  That was the plan.  I bet you know where this is going.

I got a call right before 2:00 that someone was bring antipasto, which was not on the menu. The caller was worried that it would go to waste because there would be no time to eat eat: the horror!

Well, guess what?  2:00 arrived, but some of the guests didn’t.  They were “late”. The “disaster” continued.  Here came the antipasto.  Oh no, what now? Five minutes later, my wife announced that the gravy was ruined.  I didn’t mind one bit – I never eat gravy – but some people went into anaphylactic shock: you can’t have Thanksgiving without gravy!

Someone made a mad dash for the door.  They sped to the store on a mission to get gravy before the store closed.  Oh, no!  What about the turkey?  Would it keep until they returned? Five minutes later, my wife announced that the turkey wasn’t done, and it would take at least another half hour to cook. Problem solved. And guess what?  We had antipasto to hold us over until mealtime. What luck!

I announced that, in case the turkey never got cooked, we could always have hot dogs, and I got a lot of dirty looks.  Sometimes it doesn’t pay to be the joker in the family.

For some reason, a half hour turned into an hour, and the turkey was finally done.  This coincided with the arrival of the gravy, the late guests, and a few other people we didn’t expect for dinner.  Then came the next question: did we have enough food?

Luckily, we did.  Plus,everyone was paranoid that we wouldn’t have enough pies that they either baked or bought their own.  So we wound up with 8 pies for 17 people. I guess you could say we had enough pie.

The Final Score

The day went well.  We had enough food for everyone, with a little left over (especially the pie). As for myself, I remained true to my previous post: I did not overeat.  I took one serving of the turkey and a few side dishes and that was it.  I also noticed that, when the meal was done and the food off the table, people talked more and had a better time.

This was the memory that I shall take with me from Thanksgiving: my family talking and laughing and having a good time, not the late turkey, almost without gravy.  That was not important at all, even if it was delicious.

I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

SMILE!!

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

2 responses »

  1. Colleen says:

    Maybe we should have had a swap meet. My gravy came out like the nectar of the Gods and we had tons left over — my pies as you know — not so good. I’m glad your family all got to be together (eventually) and had plenty to eat. 😀

  2. What a great story!! Incidentally, I enjoyed reading it as I sat here eating my (all natural) hot dog! 🙂 Probably sad of me, but I’d take a hot dog over roast turkey any day. 🙂 Hubby on the other hand–he calls them (natural or not) rot dogs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

