Pester

Am I Dreaming?

What do you do after your dream comes true? Do you wake up the next day, pat yourself on the back, and rest upon your laurels? Is it enough to simply say “I did it?” Is that joy enough – and how long does that last? Shouldn’t life be a journey from start to finish, and not a rest stop where you decide to get off and live until your time is up?

The reason I pose so many questions to everyone – including myself – is because this is the situation in which I currently find myself.  And to tell the truth, it is uncomfortable.

Why?

My long-time dream of publishing a book came true about 2 weeks ago.  I am now “officially” published. My book is out there, and anyone can buy it and read it. You would think that the glow of this accomplishment would linger a while, but it hasn’t. Instead I find myself placed in the awkward and uncomfortable spot of having to promote myself in order to sell some copies.  Plainly put: I hate it.

Pester 3

Oh, I know that this goes with the territory.  Everyone I know tells me this. A writer is not just supposed to sit back and let fate determine what happens.  I writer is supposed to take an active part in the book’s destiny.  Plus, how can fate ever play a role when it doesn’t even know your book exists?

I understand all of this, but that doesn’t make it any easier.

Yes, I have been told to always carry copies of the book with me, to always talk about it to people, to hit up friends and family to buy copies and to help spread the word (this is called “marketing,” but some people have other words for it.  The only one I can mention here is “annoying.”)  I am definitely NOT a salesperson.  The mere thought of t makes me anxious.

Pester 2

So how do I feel?  More like that kid who tug’s at his father’s shirt and pesters him for something until he finally relents and gives in to the kid. And that does not feel good at all.

But the bottom line is this: I am going to need to do some very uncomfortable things soon. I am going to have to go around and do book readings in front of real live people who will look at me and listen to me. That feels like a panic attack waiting to happen.

I am also going to have to go more places and talk to more people.  Oh, no, what have I gotten myself into? And I am going to have to keep reminding people that my book is for sale – not because I want fame or fortune, but because what I really want is for people to read it; because there is a chance they might enjoy it, and there is even a chance that it might help them in their own struggles.

I wrote the book for myself, first of all. I needed closure and help with my grieving process. And I also hoped that by releasing it to everyone, it might actually do some good.

So now I am a pest, and I will have to deal with that, too.  Isn’t life a blast?

SMILE!!

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

8 responses »

  1. Colleen says:

    You’ll do great Joe. If not offer them Fritos if they crunch loud enough no one will be able to hear anything. 😀

  2. Reblogged this on sondasmcschatter and commented:
    JOE ISN’T AN MCS SISTER—- BUT JOE IS AN ACQUAINTANCE– A BLOG FRIEND– I FOLLOW JOE’S BLOG– & JOE FOLLOWS MY BLOG— JOE DOESN’T HAVE MCS– JOE IS A AGORPHOBIC!! IT IS AWESOME TO LEARN WHAT HE HAS TO GO THROUGH NOT BEING ABLE TO LEAVE HIS “SAFE HOME”– FOR OTHER REASONS THEN WHY MCS PEOPLE CAN’T LEAVE THEIR “MCS SAFE HOMES”— JOE WROTE A BOOK– IF YA WANT TO— SUPPORT JOE– IN WHAT EVER WAY YOU SEE FIT— THANKS JOE FOR BEING YOU & SHARING & THE SUPPORT YOU SHOW TO ALL OF US WITH MCS!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Christa says:

    Oh, my, you’ve hit the nail on the head for modern writers!!!! I agree. I actually can’t do book readings, etc. because my MCS is extremely severe & I’d get sick from perfumes, etc. But I’m secretly glad, because I’d have a hard time being incredibly nervous, etc. 🙂 (Guess it’s not a secret anymore. ha ha) But I HATE any kind of marketing online, etc. too. 😛 I’ll try to take your advice and SMILE. 🙂

  4. miche123 says:

    Hi Joe,

    How are you?

    I found your blog via Sonda, from the blog, MCS Chatter. I understand what you mean about the promoting of our books. For some of us, we’d much rather stay (or be forced) to stay at home and write away; and it seems mighty unfair that we would have to go out into the actual world and promote our work.

    If I could share my experience with you: I am housebound most of the time. Going out anywhere takes great planning and skill, I have to ask other to go fragrance free or I get sick. People won’t always help me so it’s easier to just stay home. My conundrum: I just published my first book: http://the-labyrinth.com/2014/12/05/netherland-dwarfs-taking-care-of-them-in-australia/

    At the suggestion of a teacher at Uni, I decided to use Facebook to promote my book: https://www.facebook.com/netherlanddwarfrabbitsbook I try to go there each day and give out ‘A Tip of the Day’ or, if not well ‘A Tip of the Week’. As this is a topic I know a lot about, it’s actually fun. I don’t like the social interaction on Facebook, I find it strange in an are-we-all-weird-aliens-or-what? type of way, but since using it as a professional platform, I’m quite liking it.

    There is also the Amazon author page, which you may already use? I’m yet to set that up but will utilise that soon.

    I’ve thought about doing a reading on YouTube, I get nervous doing any speaking type events, but understand that it helps me grow out of my shyness (I’m 44! 🙂 )

    For reading speeches, poetry readings etc. we were taught that if we look above people’s heads, instead of into people’s eyes, we may feel less nervous. But what I’ve found to work well is to make eye contact only with people who you feel supported by, this has worked a treat for me (last year, I did an ‘MCS Housing’ speech).

    Life can be a blast. Think how good you will feel if you can accomplish this?

    If all else fails, us bloggers will always be here to promote your book…

    Cheers, and good luck

    Miche

  5. Hello Joe,

    I have a difficult time promoting my book in the usual way because, like Sonda, I suffer from MCS. I have been doing a lot of self promotion. If you need any ideas, you may contact me via the contact button on my blog. https://allergictolifemybattle.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

