Image1

Enough is More Than Enough

Some people are probably already thinking this – at least I hope they are. Christmas has been warped and it’s out of control.

I would never admit this as a child.  We didn’t have much, and Christmas was the one day of the year I was guaranteed presents.  In that sense, I was lucky. And, even though we hoped for a lot of gifts, we still only got a few.  And in that sense, I was even luckier.  I was able to learn how to be thankful for my blessings.

Change

What has changed? The answer is a complicated mix of things.  For one, I am older now, and I realize that material possessions are almost meaningless (some things, of course, we do need). Another reason is the standard of living.  In many cases, this has been raised over the years.  We simply have more than we used to.  Thirdly (and most dastardly of all) are the advertisers who market us to death, brainwashing us into thinking that we are nothing without the “next big thing,” the ridiculous piece of garbage that will elevate us from our daily doldrums and catapult us to superstar status:

“You will be happy if you just buy this.”

Our emotions are now tied to owning things instead of doing things, to the material instead of to people. I know that, over the course of my life, I have been the MOST motivated and felt the BEST when I was doing something for someone else; and I believe that this is how it should be.

That being said, I just don’t care what I get for Christmas.  I have everything I need: a roof over my head, clothing upon my back, food on my table, and people who love me. If you want to give me something, give me love.

Hope

This may sound insane, but that won’t stop me from saying it. My hope is that we can cut back on this holiday that is spiraling out of control; and I have an idea that will keep all the advertisers, marketers and consumers happy – and just might start us back on track to what Christmas really means.  My Idea is to cut back, and I call it:

ONE LESS

The idea is to buy “one less” present this year. Tell everyone to cut back by buying (or getting) “one less” gift.  Then, take the money you were going to spend and donate it to a charity, a church, a worthy cause.  GIVE it to somebody who needs it.  Surely this won’t hurt our economy.  Surely we won’t even notice “one less” gift under the tree.  The only ones who will notice it are the people who need it.  Let’s make our “one less” their “one more.”  We have got to start somewhere.

My hope for you is that you can truly enjoy the blessings of this day, and that you will see the true meaning of Christmas in your heart and in your deeds.

Merry Christmas!

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

2 responses »

  1. […] reading a very different post. Instead, I checked my emails first — this led me to my buddy Joe’s site to read his post on buying one less present this year. His idea to give that money to someone who has needs rather […]

  2. […] friends if you are still wondering what you should give someone whom who think has every thing: “Stop Giving Me Christmas Presents” by Joe. And “A (Virtual) Gift Bag For You” by […]

Leave a Reply

