purpose

Lately I have written about struggle and how we find our way through difficult times. It is no secret that I have had my share of difficulties in the past weeks and have been working my way through them. A lot of people have commented to me about similar times in their lives. It makes sense, if you think about it. We share a planet, we share our humanity. It’s all part of life.

The Universe (Big “U”) has been having a conversation with me lately, and many times the words get heated. I have been struggling to find my voice in my words, worried if I have any words left; so what does the Universe do? It refuses to let my computer install updates, causing it to malfunction and need to be restored. This took me all weekend and it’s still not done.

Then, when I sat down to write a blog entry, my blogging software was gone. When I tried to re-install it, my computers refused, spewing forth all sorts of error messages that would bore the pants off most people, so I won’t go into them. You can thank me later.

So, what’s a boy to do? Simple: go old school. I write down my thoughts on paper and transfer them directly into the blog. Let’s see what the Universe has to say about that! (As I duck for cover). It’s one thing to have writer’s block in your head, but when you want to write and something won’t let you – well that will never do!

SEARCHING

What my recent journey amounts to is a search for purpose and identity. We often ask ourselves the questions: “Who am I?” and “Why am I here?” Luckily, sometimes, answers can be found – if we look in the right places.

AN EXPERIENCE

Last night, a friend of mine called me after reading my blog. The last thing I wrote poked fun at the “positive side” of agoraphobia. It seems as if she read it, and it caused her to be nervous because I was talking about airplanes crashing, and today she is traveling to Europe.

My friend wasn’t angry at me (even thought I was worried she might be). Instead she was looking to me to provide her with a laugh and some positive thoughts that would help her calm her travel anxieties. I spoke with her about 20 minutes and gave her some travel tips. I told her positive things about what would happen, and how to deal with her nerves. Before long she stopped talking because she was laughing too hard. My job was done. It had worked. She was in a good mood and ready to face her trip.

GIFTS

My friend’s phone call was a gift to me. When I hung up the phone, I was in as good a mood as she was. And that is when I once-again realized my purpose. My humor, which had disappeared for weeks, had returned when I needed to help a friend. And all along I had been looking for it in the wrong place. I was looking for it inside myself, to help myself, to do things I thought would be good for myself, when all along I should have been working harder at helping others.

Our purpose in life is not to be selfish; it is to be generous. It is not to gather meaning from owning or accumulating, unless it is accumulating friends by spreading love to others around you. Our success in life is not measured by the size of the four walls in which we dwell. It is measured by the size of the other 4 walls, the 4 chambers of our hearts, swollen with love that must be shared.

Today, I am a happy man because I helped someone. My life is back on track. My wish for you today is to experience the same.

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

One response »

  1. Colleen says:

    Very profound Joe. Glad you found a way around that trickster the Ego that tried to throw a monkey wrench into you fulfilling your purpose. 😀 Peace.

Leave a Reply

