Scary

RUN!

Just when I thought I had things under control, things change.  I guess that’s called life, and life isn’t easy.

I had just returned from a delightful trip to Germany, where all of my relaxation techniques worked, and I had an amazing time.  I was all set to focus on the next phase of my life: carrying this relaxation forward into new projects and new fun, but lo and behold, here comes my old friend Mr. Anxiety — and for good reason.  You see, I am appearing in public to do a book reading/presentation TWICE this week, on Wednesday and Sunday.

Now I know a lot of people would tell me that I have every right to be nervous.  Speaking in public is hard for most people. So you can imagine how tough it is for me.  The spotlight will be shining on me anywhere from 45 minutes to an hour.  This is a solo presentation.  I will have no help.  There is a lot of pressure that goes along with that. It makes sense that I have butterflies in my stomach.

GOOD NEWS

Yes, I did find some good news in all of this. A lot of people have been telling me that I don’t have to do this.  This is all my decision — and they are correct. I am doing this because I want to and need to.  I am doing this because I need to keep pushing back the boundaries that try to shackle me into a cloistered world.  The more I do, the more I break free, and the truer I am to my beliefs.  I have to do this.

OUTCOME

So, what will happen?  I suppose I could pass out or get sick or die, but that’s hardly likely.  Most likely I will do a good enough job and the experience will be a positive one — and I need to hold onto that thought.  I need to make that my focus.  That, and the fact that I am finally going to share my story with people. Sure, this is a book reading, but I see it as a gathering of friends who just want to have a good time. Here is the information:

BOOK READING/PRESENTATION 1: Wednesday, June 17th at 6:30 at the Fulton Public Library.

BOOK READING/PRESENTATION 2: Sunday (Father’s Day), June 21st, 11:15 am at the First United Methodist Church of Fulton

I will be busy getting ready and practicing my relaxation techniques until then.  Afterwords, I will probably write about it. Keep your fingers crossed!

                                                                                       SMILE!

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

One response »

  1. Colleen says:

    I’m looking forward to it. Hopefully everyone will leave off the fragrances so I get to stay the whole time. 😀

Leave a Reply

