Image6

SOUL SEARCHING

I debated for a long time whether or not I should write this blog entry. It could ruffle a few feathers. It’s not my typical blog entry.  It’s not funny in the least.  I might even lose followers.

So then, why am I writing this?  Because I could not look myself in the mirror if I did not.  That is how much it bothers me. My conscience will not let me be.  I have to do the right thing and talk about this. I am no expert on the subject; and it is quite possible that I am way off base here.  Still, what do you do when your gut tells you that something is wrong? Do you sit silent or bring up the topic?

I will have to speak out and take my lumps, if necessary.

GET TO THE POINT

I am talking about food-eating contests. Simply put: they disgust me and I think they are wrong.

Image11

Now, I have to qualify that statement a bit.  I am NOT talking about old-fashioned contests such as pie-eating contests and the like.  Those things are different. In those cases, a contestant gets a pie and they see who can finish first.  That seems more like simple fun, and not a disgusting example of gluttony, waste and indulgence.

What bothers me are the contests where the people do not (hardly) chew the food.  They dip the food in water and swallow at a regurgitatingly fast pace.  I have seen clips of these contests, and they always make me gag.

Image12

First of all, they don’t look like fun.  They look like the contestants are in agony.  But that’s beside the point. The real reason these contests bother me so much is because there are starving people in the world, and we make games out of over-eating.  That does not sit well with my soul.

Yes, I realize I could be wrong.  Perhaps they are using food that would otherwise be thrown out.  I doubt it, but it could be true.  Or perhaps the people who run these contests make huge donations to charity.  Maybe they stock local food banks and have programs to help fight world hunger.  If that’s so, then I apologize.  If not, then I say “shame on you.”

I cannot say this more simpler: I think it is wrong to make a game out of eating when people are starving to death.

HYPOCRITE?

I would be a hypocrite if I did not also try to do something about the world hunger situation – and I do help out, albeit not enough. And that is one reason that I am going to post information about where my money goes, and links to a couple of organizations which I think do a great job in this area.

Image10

The First is called Samaritan’s Purse. This organization is quite diverse and focuses on a great many world issues such as: hunger, disease, water, sanitation and hygiene and many others.

Image8

The other is Heifer International.  This organization does not just provide food to people.  They provide the means by which people can start producing their own food so that they can take care of themselves. It is a very smart approach to helping stamp out world hunger.

As I said, these are two organizations which I support and wished to highlight their good work as part of my entry about food and the uncomfortable feeling I get when I hear about eating contests.

I am not sure what the reaction to this will be, but I hope it at least made people think.

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

6 responses »

  1. Colleen says:

    Right on. I too love Heifer International and food eating contests disgust me. I have often wondered why they are so popular. I know some people will go through agony to win thousands of dollars but I don’t know who would want to watch people those people going through agony.

    • Joe says:

      Thank you for your comment, Colleen. I hope others agree. I wasn’t sure whether or not to post it, but I just couldn’t live with myself if I hadn’t. Every time I see a news clip of people shoving that food into their mouths, I can’t help but think about the poor people who would give anything to have even a small portion of it. It’s just not right. Thanks, again.

  2. Debbie Hough says:

    Joe,how dare you? Just kidding. Thanks for the heads up on charity places. Keep in mind that this is America and you have the right to feel…period. Have a super day!

    • Joe says:

      Thanks, Deb…now was that a typo…did you mean to say “the right to feed?” (as in livestock..also known as “pig out”?) (j/k) 🙂

  3. Stephanie says:

    I agree. The winners are professionals rather than the average person signing up when they are at the local fair.

    In my mind those contests rank in the same place as those guiness records events like making the biggest hamburger or cake or whatever. What a waste when so many people are in need.

Leave a Reply

