Photos: Sterling Nature Center and the Heron Rookery

Check this out for some amazing photos!

Life in the City with a Future

Sterling Nature Center Signme at Sterling Nature CenterThis week I crossed a nature walk off my wish list. I went with my friend Beth to the Sterling Nature Center. We were headed to top on my wish list which was the heron rookery when Beth spotted some critters that I had been trying to take photos of for some time. Turtles were basking on Dragonfly Pond. It was one brave painted turtle to hang out with a snapping turtle.

A beaver dam created the wetland area where 35 nesting pairs of herons come back year after year to raise their young. We didn’t quite make it to the beaver dam but that is on my wish list for the next visit.

This week I also made it to Lake Neatahwanta where I spotted another painted turtle and to the Oswego River where I spotted some more herons. Enjoy your walk with nature. (as always click to enlarge…

View original post 2 more words

3 responses »

  1. Colleen says:

    Thanks for the reblog Joe. I’m glad you enjoyed them.

Leave a Reply

