Brain Teaser

TIME TO WRITE

We all know why we are here: to share ideas.  But how can you share ideas when you don’t have any?  That’s easy; I do it all the time.  I think most people do.  That is why the Internet is a big hit. When you post something online, it doesn’t need to have any purpose at all: thus, this blog!

I have been getting all set to write this week, so that means one of two things.  I can either sharpen my mind in order to come up with clever and insightful blog entries, or I can dull it into a blithering mass of grey matter.  Either one of those things works well, and I hate to tell you which one works better — but I think by now you can guess.

Before I write, I like to do a little metal exercising to get ready.  This is because I hate brain cramps which plague me like yesterday’s burrito. I prefer quizzes because they force me to dig deep, find facts and challenge me.  If you are not a “quiz person,” you can achieve the same goal by standing in the middle of a crowded street and trying to remember all the license plate numbers of the cars that pass by.  (Please remember to bring enough money for bail, as jail is a distinct possibility).

So, here for your reading pleasure is my latest warm-up quiz.  See how many you can answer before time runs out.

GENERAL KNOWLEDGE QUIZ:

1. The War of 1812 was fought in ______?

a. New Jersey   b. An apartment in the Bronx   c. Tight pants   d. A hurry

2. Who invented popcorn?

a. Orville Reddenbacher   b. Molly McButter   c. Native Americans   d. Grandpopcorn

3. Fill in the blank: “Early to bed, early to rise, makes a man ______.

a. wish he had a surprise   b. healthy, wealthy and wise   c. prone to war a disguise   d. boring

4. If you eat two bananas every day for a year, what do you get?

a. Healthy   b. Monkeys following you around   c. Jaundice   d. Peelarrhea

5. Mathematics: The square root of 225 is _____.

a. An inverse parallelogram with 6 sides   b. 15   c. found at http://www.squareroot.com   d. Chocolate cream pi

6. Why?

a. Because.   b. Why Not?   c. Beats me.   d. Fritos.

7. Science: The lightest element in the Periodic Table is _____.

a. The sun   b. The moon   c. Argon   d. Oak

8. How long does it take to drive 1 hour at 50 miles per hour?

a. 2 days   b. 60 minutes plus another 15 for a stop at McDonald’s   c. 300   d. Spock

9. The opposite of good is _____.

a. Barium   b. Lonely   c. Pistachio   d. Empty

10. HOUR is to GLASS as CARAMEL is to _____.

a. Soup   b. Shoes   c. Caramel   d. Lincoln Logs

HOW TO SCORE:

10 points for every correct answer; 15 points for every incorrect answer; 20 points if you wrote down your answers; 25 points if you actually timed yourself; 50 point bonus if you send me Fritos.  If your score is a negative number, then multiply by -5 and add 10 to that. If you are actually trying to calculate a score, congratulations; you are mentally ill and should be writing your own blog.  If you made it to this point, seek help immediately.

                                           SMILE!!

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

One response »

  1. Love this, Joe! I knew that you’d get Fritos into the quiz somehow. It was fun. Thanks,
    Jim

Leave a Reply

