Spring Cleaning

Spring is my favorite season. It’s full of positive energy and thoughts and optimism. But what good is optimism unless you optimize? That can only mean one thing: you must take action.

And that’s my plan.

Face it, winter is over.  I don’t care how many last-minute bursts of snow we get, winter has been sent packing. For me, this also means that I must send my excuses packing right along with the season. I can no longer blame the weather for my desire to hide indoors or to cocoon myself inside my excuses for shying away from people.  It’s time to take stock and to do some spring cleaning, and the first place I sweep out is my brain.

Speaking from my own experiences, I have found that a good way to achieve goals is to look deep inside yourself with honest evaluation and thoughts, write down your goals, and share this information.  So, here is a list of the things that I need to improve and what I plan to do about them.

Neglecting My Followers: Face it, I have let my blog slide. In fact, several people have commented that I haven’t written anything in quite a while.  For this I apologize. I could make excuses, saying that I have been busy working on another book – even though this is true, it doesn’t cut it. I need to blog more often, and that’s the plan.

Avoiding People: It’s easy to avoid people when the weather is frigid. It’s common for most people to avoid the hassle of clearing snow off the car or driving when conditions are bad. But especially for me, this is a bad thing, because my anxieties have time to build, and when I face them, it’s a lot harder. But there is only one solution to this problem: get out of the house and be with people. That is part two of the plan.

Promoting Myself and My Work: I have done nothing to promote my book or my writing. It would be easy to make excuses for this, but I won’t.  The fact of the matter is that promoting myself means contacting people and putting myself in a vulnerable position. It’s much easier and safer to avoid this; but then why do I write?  I write because I want others to read my words, too. I need to promote myself.

Taking Care of My Health: I have had a few health issues lately that I must deal with, and I have already taken steps toward fixing this problem. Part of this will involve doctors.  Another part involves emotional health and well-being.  I have already begun meditating again. The plan is set into motion.  Baby steps are being made.

That is the basic plan, and now is the time to start. The 2016 Major League Baseball Season starts next Monday; and just like every ballplayer thinks his team will win the World Series, I, too must think that I can spring clean my life and get back on track toward happiness – and so can you!

Think positive and SMILE!!

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

One response »

  1. Colleen says:

    Without the trough of the wave there would be no crest — looking forward to seeing where flow of life takes you. 😀 Although it may have been an unconscious slip of the keystroke, your use of the word “winters” made me laugh. I have never heard March in central NY so aptly described. It is indeed like multiple winters — one day it is 60 and sunny and the next a polar vortex has descended upon us. Welcome back Joe. You have been missed.

Leave a Reply

