pig

I’m All Ears: The Joy of Being a Good Listener

I haven’t blogged in a while, and I have been kicking myself about it. Sure, I write it on my to-do list every single week, right there at spot # 47 in big block letters it says “BLOG.” There it sits, in between #46, “go grocery shopping” and #48, “computer maintenance.” But every week, I only manage to get 46 things done at most, so I haven’t been blogging and my computer is a mess. And anything lower down on the list, well just forget about it.

Yes, now you know.  I have been neglecting you. And that’s pretty bad.  But what’s even worse is that I let it bother me, just like it was my responsibility to decipher the puzzle that is today’s world and report back to my loyal fans with tons and tons of tips and advice. I didn’t do that, so I started feeling like a bad person.

Until…

Yesterday it dawned on me that blogging is just like having a conversation, albeit mostly one-sided. I write and you read is our online way of saying I talk and you listen. So, in reality, all that means is that I haven’t talked in a while – and that isn’t necessarily a bad thing at all.

There is an old saying (I believe we have old sayings because a lot of them are true) and it says something like: “If you don’t have anything good (or nice) to say, don’t say anything at all.” And since all my followers are geniuses, I am certain that you can already see where this is going.

Why should I blog if I don’t have anything to say? Why should I talk and talk (or write and write) without meaning or message?  I shouldn’t.

Another old saying tells me that “God gave us 2 ears and only 1 mouth so that we should listen twice as much as we speak.”  Of course I had it all wrong and thought we had 2 ears so we could enjoy music in stereo, then again what do I know?

I know this: a life without listening is a life without learning. It is a life without trying to improve one’s self.  And it is a life without empathy for others.  That is not a life that I want to live.

So, when you ask me why I have not blogged in a while, I can simply tell you that I have been busy listening, and that I am enjoying it very much!

SMILE!!!

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

3 responses »

  1. Lisa says:

    Hi Joe, I just started following you so thought I’d let you know this is where I found you. https://lifeinthecitywithafuture.wordpress.com/2016/10/02/fulton-art-association-photography-show/. I like to do what I can to share my story in case anything I’ve learned can help others so here it is http://www.valleycenter.com/news/2016-06-09/Valley_Life/Detoxing_and_eliminating_lead_helps_fight_fibromya.html. Enjoy!

  2. Colleen says:

    Since I have really big ears does that mean I am a really good listener?

Leave a Reply

