I have been officially blogging for almost 3 weeks now, and the experience had been everything from exciting to frustrating. I think, for the most part, this is because I keep asking myself the nagging question, “Am I doing this right?”

Sometimes I will write an entry that I think is meaningful and helpful.  I feel good that I can post it and possible help someone solve a problem or live a better life.  Then I post.  No reaction.  My spirits sink.

Then I post something frivolous, goofy and  mostly meaningless.  The reaction: I get “likes” and “followers” and I feel uplifted.

So I ask myself, “What is it better to have: a whole ‘library’ of meaningful blogs, or a long list of followers?” Are quality and quantity mutually exclusive, or do I have to write about toilet paper and cookie recipes and people slipping on banana peels to attract an audience – and, more importantly, should I care?

Truth of the matter is that I do care. I do want people to read what I have to say – just like everyone else here. Is this ego and self-puffery?  Perhaps.  But no one can deny the thrill of being liked or finding out that a new person wants to follow you.

So right now I feel like that guy who says he will give you a free weekend in the Bahamas; the only catch is that you have to sit and listen to his 3-hour sales pitch to sell Florida real estate.  Is this dishonest?  Is this bait and switch?  I certainly hope not.  I certainly hope that as long as I stay true to myself, I will eventually garner more followers.

and the winner is It has been almost 3 weeks, and I am still looking for that magical 50th follower.  I wonder who it will be – and if I will be on Cloud 9 – until the next milestone draws near.

In the mean time, did you hear the one about…

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

Leave a Reply

