Blog

Time Flies

I recently had the opportunity to turn the page on the calendar, and it dawned upon me: I have been blogging for almost one full year. That knocked me for a loop. I began to wonder:

What had I written in the past year?  And more importantly, What had I learned from this experience?

Blog3

Luckily, I was able to figure that out (to a certain degree, as we are always learning if we are doing it right).

Then I thought, “Wouldn’t this be a great thing to share with everyone!”

The answer was a resounding “no,” so of course that meant I had to do it.  My only remaining problem was to put all my thoughts into coherent writing and publish them.

Blog2

Then I thought, “I haven’t been coherent all along, so why should I start now?”

There is clearly no sense in changes boats midstream, unless the one you are in has sprung a leak, or the other one has all the food.  And since that is not the case (to my knowledge), I decided to stick to my guns, put my nose to the grindstone, and every other cliché that I can think of because it looks good to fill in all the blank space next to an illustration so you can start the next paragraph in a fresh, open space.

See what I mean?

I call this entry: “Blogging Lessons We Can Apply to Life and Vice Versa.”  Okay, the title needs a little work, but who cares?

BLOGGING LESSONS….and the rest of that stuff up there ^

1. “If you don’t have anything good to say, don’t say anything.” How many times did your parents lecture you about this one?  Plenty!  Then five minutes later they were complaining about “what idiots the neighbors are!”  What this translates to in the blogging world is: when you have nothing to write about, then don’t write anything. And don’t make up stuff like I do.  It annoys people (Not really, but it makes me sound like a good person if I say that.)

2. “You can’t please everyone.” Not everyone is going to like you. You may get some loyal followers (friends), and other people might think you’re an idiot. Your numbers (followers) will soar, until some of your followers realize that you really are an idiot, and then they will stop following you. Life is exactly the same way.  The best thing to do is to not worry about it as long as you are true to yourself.  I think Shakespeare said it best when he said “Tights chafe, so wearest what thou wants,” or something like that.  (Shakespeare is not my strong suit, but quoting him makes it possible to list that in the keywords, so I might get a smarter following.)

3. “It takes a long time to get good at something.” I am proof of this.  I have been doing this a year and I still have no clue what I am up to.  Life is the same.  You are lucky if you can figure out some of it before you die and move on to the next level.

4. “Laugh!” Lighten up.  Don’t always be so serious.  Life is tough enough without pointing that out to everyone.  Why do you think comedians make so much money?  It’s because they make people laugh, and laughing feels good.  Most of the other ways to make people feel good are illegal, so stick to comedy and avoid jail time.

5. “You are already perfect.” You don’t need to change for anyone or anything.  You are perfect the way you are. If you think you can write the perfect blog, then go ahead and try to figure out what that is.  Perfection is an impossibility unless you are talking about things like: a perfect score on an exam, a baby’s smile, or a bag of Fritos.  Everything else is just relative, and you know how imperfect your relatives are.  Case closed.  Move on.

6. “Compliments feel great!” This is a no-brainer.  Just make sure you give them out as well as receive them.

7. “You are even better than you dreamed of being.” I believe that for every follower you now have, there are at least ten other people that would love what you do.  This is an exponential equation, with astounding possibilities.  That means, the more you write, the better it will get.  Don’t give up.  You are amazing!

Blog4

Well, I was going to write ten of these “life lessons” but it seems like I am already proving number 5. Perfection is an impossibility.  I lost the other 3.

The only part that I remember is that sometimes your followers will bring you Fritos. Can it get any better than that?  Nope!

                  SMILE!

About Joe

Freelance designer and writer whose goal is to help others by writing about my experiences with fear and anxiety (agoraphobia), health struggles (cancer) and my wonderfully-happy life as a husband and stay-at-home dad. I want to empower everyone to have a happy life.

2 responses »

  1. anfinsenart says:

    I always smile after reading one of your blogs! Congratulations on one year!

Leave a Reply

